The Racing Narrative

Carlos Sainz has won the 2023 Singapore Grand Prix with the assistance of his former teammate, Lando Norris.

2022 Singapore Grand Prix Notes

  • Winner: Sergio Perez
  • Pole Starter: Charles Leclerc
  • Fastest Lap: 1:46:458 – George Russell 
  • Laps: 59 
  • Track Length: 5.063km
  • Corners: 23 
  • Weather conditions: Wet 

2023 Singapore Grand Prix Notes

  • Winner: Carlos Sainz 
  • Pole Starter: Carlos Sainz
  • Fastest Lap: 1:35:867 – Lewis Hamilton 
  • Laps: 62
  • Track Length: 4.490km
  • Corners: 19
  • Weather Conditions: Dry

The Singapore Grand Prix, held at the Marina Bay Street Circuit, is one of the toughest tracks to overtake on. It is held in the evening for cooler temperatures, making the F1 cars glisten as they accelerate under the floodlights. The track has recently undergone some improvements, which has made the circuit shorter than previous years, resulting in more laps.

Ferrari driver Carlos Sainz won the 2023 Singapore Grand Prix after an intense finish to a race that hung in the balance for the final laps. His victory put a stop to Red Bull’s unbeaten streak of 15 consecutive race wins.

Max Verstappen’s record of 10 consecutive wins also came to an end as the World Defending Champion was only able to recover to fifth from eleventh on the grid. The Red Bull team had appeared to put their strategy on safety cars coming into play at the right time, however, it was the wrong time, in this case, surprising most fans.

The race pace was managed mainly by Carlos Sainz, who led the pack for the duration of the race. Tyre management and a tight track also meant the race seemed to be getting a little tame, until Lap 43. Understandably frustrated, Esteban Ocon pulled up just in front of the pit lane exit due to an engine failure ending his race and allowing a few other teams to get a cheap pit stop for some fresh medium tyres.

A nail-biting four man race to the finish line

In the thrilling four-man race to the finish line, the two Mercedes drivers aggressively chased down the leaders of the pack, Lando and Carlos, on much fresher tyres. Approaching the final ten laps, they ferociously pushed on into P3 and P4. They threw everything they had at Lando Norris, who was defending his place in P2, and thanks to his former teammate and leader of the race Calos Sainz for keeping within reach, Lando was able to hold off George Russell and even forced a mistake out of the Mercedes driver to end his race with zero points as he crashed into the wall.

Lando Norris rightfully claimed second for McLaren, and Lewis Hamilton moved up to third for Mercedes as George slipped out of the race at the late stage. Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc finished fourth in front of Max Verstappen.

One of the more notable drivers of the race was Australian driver Oscar Piastri. While he wasn’t in the top battle with his teammate, he did manage to make some progress from starting grid position seventeenth all the way up to finishing in seventh. It was a good day for McLaren boss Zac Brown, but an even better one for Ferrari Team Principle Fred Vasseur, gaining his first win since moving from Alfa Romeo.

Overall, it was a good day for most of the constructors. Still, the question is, will the Red Bull team be back to winning ways at the next race in Japan, or can we expect more of a switch-up for the rest of the season?

How the rest of the pack finished

  1. Carlos Sainz- 25pts
  2. Lando Norris – 18pts
  3. Lewis Hamilton – 16pts
  4. Charles Leclerc – 12pts
  5. Max Verstappen – 10pts
  6. Pierre Gasly – 8pts
  7. Oscar Piastri – 6pts
  8. Sergio Perez – 4pts
  9. Liam Lawson – 2pts
  10. Kevin Magnussen – 1pts
  11. Alex Albon – 0pts
  12. Zhou Guanyu – 0pts
  13. Niko Hulkenberg – 0pts
  14. Logan Sargeant – 0pts
  15. Fernadno Alonso – 0pts
  16. George Russell – DNF
  17. Valtteri Bottas – DNF
  18. Esteban Ocon – DNF
  19. Yuki Tsunoda – DNF
Scroll to Top